What's the best video conferencing app and other collaboration tooling for remote teams?

Question submitted by @CodyMcCodeFace via Workfrom Slack.

I’ve been working remotely for 5 years and have used a range of video conferencing applications in companies of varying sizes. My go-to video conferencing apps are:

1. Zoom (https://zoom.us)
    Zoom is by far the leading video conferencing tool used by remote companies as of this post. It handles large amounts of attendees gracefully, and allows team members to easily host, and join calls.

2. Microsoft Teams (https://teams.microsoft.com/)
    Microsoft teams is particularly popular with companies that already use other Microsoft tools such as Active Directory, because it integrates easily with that ecosystem. It serves as a video conferencing app, but also as a chat app (think slack). It’s not as polished as zoom, and does have some minor bugs.

3. Google Hangouts Meet (https://meet.google.com)
    Like Microsoft Teams for Microsoft companies, Hangouts Meet is perfect for companies who are heavily integrated with Google’s GSuite for work. It makes scheduling meetings very easy within Google Calendar and Gmail.

If anyone else has any other suggestions please feel free to reply with those and what their strengths and weaknesses are.

2 Likes

Recently, I’ve used Zoom for meetings and the Slack built-in videoconference feature for quick conversations. Both working well.

2 Likes

Agreed that Zoom, Teams, and Google all offer great tools for video meetings.

I’d suggest Slack for an asynchronous chat client. Sometimes you can’t talk face-to-face, but Slack has a bunch of great features that put it at the top of the team chat options in my book.

1 Like

Agree that Zoom is pretty darn solid!

2 Likes